Report on the Nov. 8 Sleepy Eye school board meeting.

With a short agenda, the District 84 Board of Education had plenty of time to hear a report from FFA students at their Nov. 8 meeting. Twenty-six FFA members attended the National Convention in Indianapolis in late October, bringing home many awards and having a great learning experience. They thanked the school board for their support.

High School Principal Shane Laffen reported he has completed evaluations for non-tenured teachers.

Superintendent and Elementary Principal John Cselovszki said a group of staff members attended a national conference on personalized learning and he continues to send teachers to visit the Harrisburg, S.D. school to learn about their model of personalized learning.

Cselovszki also reported that he and teacher Mindy Berkner spent a day in Windom to learn about their Q Comp plan. According to information on the Minnesota Department of Eduction website, Quality Compensation law (Q Comp) is a voluntary program that allows local districts and exclusive representatives of the teachers to design and collectively bargain a plan that meets the four components of the law. The four components under Q Comp include Career Ladder/Advance-ment Options, Job-embedded Professional Development, Teacher Evaluation, and Performance Pay and Alternative Salary Schedule. Approved school districts receive up to $260 per student for the program.

Cselovszki explained that at the last meet and confer meeting (with teachers) he brought up Q Comp. “I feel that we are already doing all the requirements to be eligible for Q-comp funding,” he said. “So I felt that we should explore it and take a look at it again.” He said they are also reviewing plans from other area school districts.

Actions items approved included:

•Resignation of Melissa Alt as head track coach.

•Hire Sara Hesse as second junior high girls basketball coach (based on participation numbers) at $2,146.

•Open enrollment requests: three in, one from Morgan, two from Milroy.

•Approve ACT after school help staff: Deb Reinarts, Sherri Seifert, Kaitlyn Pietig, Lauren Buckentine and Bradd Goede.

The next meeting of the Board of Education is Wednesday, Dec. 13 at 5:30 p.m. with truth-in-taxation meeting at 6 p.m.