The Democratic-Farmer-Labor (DFL) and Republican Parties will conduct 2014 precinct caucus on Feb. 4 at 7 p.m.

The Democratic-Farmer-Labor (DFL) and Republican Parties will conduct 2014 precinct caucus on Feb. 4 at 7 p.m.

Precinct caucuses are open to the public, but in order to vote, offer resolutions or become a delegate, attendees must be eligible to vote in the next general election, live in the precinct and be in general agreement with the principles of the political party.

DFL Chairman Ken Martin said precinct caucuses are a great way for people to meet their neighbors, discuss issues important to their community and serve as the unofficial start to the 2014 election season.

The purpose of the Republican precinct caucus will be to elect precinct chairs and other officers, elect delegates and alternates to the Brown County Basic Political Operating Unit (BPOU) convention, conduct gubernatorial and U.S. Senate straw polls and to discuss candidates as well as issues and resolutions to the party platform.

For a complete listing of caucus locations in Brown County, you may contact the County Auditor’s office. To determine what precinct you live in go to pollfinder.sos.state,

All political parties in Minnesota hold caucuses in precincts across the state, at the same time, on the same night, for the same purpose.

Brown County DFL precinct caucus locations include:

Sleepy Eye Public Elementary School, 4th Ave. SW, Sleepy Eye and includes Eden Township, Evan, Home Township, Leavenworth Township, Prairieville Township, Sleepy Eye Ward 1 and 2 and Stark Township.Springfield Public School, 12 S Burns Ave., Springfield and includes Bashaw Township, Burnstown Township, Cobden, Comfrey, Mulligan Township, North Star Township, Springfield Ward 1 and 2 and Stately Township.Hanska Community Center, 201 Broadway St., Hanska, and includes Albin Township, Hanska, Lake Hanska, Linden Township and Cottonwood Township. 

New Ulm Community Center, 600 N German St., New Ulm, and includes Milford Township, New Ulm, W-1,2, 3 and 4 and Sigel Township.

Brown County Republican caucus locations include:

Sleepy Eye Public School cafeteria, 400 4th Ave. SW, Sleepy Eye. The Cities of Sleepy Eye and Evan, as well as the Townships of Albin, Eden, Home, Leavenworth, Prairieville and Stark, will caucus at this location.Springfield Area Community Center, 33 S Cass Ave., Springfield. The cities of Springfield, Cobden and Comfrey, as well as the Townships of Bashaw, Burnstown, Mulligan, North Star and Stately, will caucus at this location.New Ulm Public High School cafeteria commons, 414 S Payne St., New Ulm. Entrance to the caucus will be on the west, or Garden Street side of the high school through door 4. In addition to the cities of New Ulm and Hanska, the Townships of Cottonwood, Lake Hanska, Linden, Milford and Siegel will also caucus at this location.