The Sleepy Eye Herald Dispatch
  • Mathiowetz named Tomahawk Conference Player of the Year in baseball

  • He did it in basketball, now he’s done it in baseball.
    • email print
  • He did it in basketball, now he’s done it in baseball.
    Sean Mathiowetz was recently named Player of the Year in the Tomahawk Conference. He was also chosen as an All-Conference selection, along with Jordan Anderson, Brandon Helget, Jon Kopacek and David Surprenant.
    St. Mary’s had the most amount of selections for the All-Conference team out of all of the Tomahawk teams. All five of them were unanimous picks. Mitch Neid received Honorable Mention All-Conference for the Knights.
    Mathiowetz and Anderson also made the All-Section Baseball team for Class 1A.
    Meanwhile, John Mangen and Matt Berkner made All-Conference selections for Sleepy Eye Public. Mangen was a unanimous pick. Matt Schroepfer made All-Conference Honorable Mention.
    There were also three Sleepy Eye Public School baseball players who made the Tomahawk Conference All-Academic Team, which is given to sophomores, juniors and seniors on the varsity team with a GPA of 3.75 or higher. Both Mangen and Schroepfer were All-Academic selections, along with Sam Hirschboeck.
    Congratulations to all of these players for their accomplishments this baseball season.
Terms of Service

    Events Calendar